massachusetts institute of technology

news office

Go advanced search

news

recent research campus by topic events archives

services

request images subscribe submit news promote news media inquiries

about us

news office info MIT background contact



23 faculty members receive tenure

May 23, 2001

The Executive Committee of the MIT Corporation has approved the award of tenure to the following faculty members, effective July 1, 2001. Unless otherwise noted, all of these promotions are from associate professor without tenure to associate professor with tenure. A reception was held in their honor at the President's House on May 22.

In September, MIT Tech Talk will run an article with a brief profile of each faculty member. That article will include any additional faculty who are approved for tenure at the June meeting of the Executive Committee or over the summer.

SCHOOL OF ENGINEERING

Aeronautics and Astronautics -- Eric M.J. Feron, Simon Mark Spearing

Bioengineering and Environmental Health -- Ram Sasisekharan

Chemical Engineering -- Paul I. Barton

Electrical Engineering and Computer Science -- Daniel N. Jackson, David R. Karger, Alexandre Megretski

Materials Science and Engineering -- Caroline A. Ross

Mechanical Engineering -- Seth Lloyd, Peter T.C. So

SCHOOL OF ARCHITECTURE AND PLANNING

Architecture -- Takehiko Nagakura

Media Arts and Sciences -- Hiroshi Ishii

SCHOOL OF HUMANITIES, ARTS, AND SOCIAL SCIENCES

Economics -- Susan Athey

Linguistics and Philosophy -- Kai von Fintel

SLOAN SCHOOL OF MANAGEMENT

Duncan Simester

SCHOOL OF SCIENCE

Biology -- Jianzhu Chen, Jacqueline Lees, Peter K. Sorger

Brain and Cognitive Sciences -- Matthew Wilson



Photo / Donna Coveney

A reception was held yesterday at the President's House for newly tenured faculty members. Chatting with President Charles Vest (center) and his wife Rebecca Vest are (left to right) Seth Lloyd of mechanical engineering, Ram Sasisekharan of bioengineering and environmental health, and Hiroshi Ishii of media arts and sciences.

TOOLS

Print version

 $\sim <$

+ RSS feeds

RELATED

More: Awards and honors

More: Faculty

Mathematics -- Michael Brenner (to full professor), Pavel Etingof (from assistant professor)

Physics -- Peter H. Fisher (to full professor), Uwe-Jens Wiese.

A version of this article appeared in MIT Tech Talk on May 23, 2001.

MIT home

news office room 11-400

77 massachusetts avenue cambridge, ma 02139-4307

617-253-2700 newsoffice@mit.edu